Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.36

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1611 SACD
Release date2007-07-30
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time75:31

Music Web International: Recording of Year 2007.

Four cantatas written for services during April 1725 make up the programme of this disc. Just before Easter that same year, Bach had put an end to his projected chorale cantata cycle, originally planned to span the entire church year. These particular cantatas did not have a direct association with the gospel passage for the days in question; instead they used specific hymns as their starting point. Probably for extra-musical reasons – possibly the non-availability of the librettist – this cycle broke off before the church year was completed. Instead, with Bleib bei uns (Abide with us, BWV 6), Bach returned to the conventional type of cantata. All four cantatas on the present disc deal with the interplay between the resurrected Christ and his disciples: Christ's first appearance in front of two of the disciples on the road to Emmaus (BWV 6), his visit to a meeting of the disciples, held in secret for fear of persecution (BWV 42), and his words of parting as he prepares to join his Father (BWV 103 and 108). Joy, fear and sadness, the various and conflicting emotions inherent in the subject matter, are painted in Bach's incomparable musical language, and transmitted in these performances by Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki. Among the soloists, Yukari Nonoshita and Robin Blaze are well-known to the followers of this series, while James Gilchrist and Domink Wörner both appear in it for the second time. For this particular disc, Bach Collegium Japan are visited by Dan Laurin, who performs the virtuosic flauto piccolo part in BWV 103, and Dmitry Badiarov, who plays his own, unique reconstruction of a violoncello piccolo in BWV 6.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.39
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats, BWV42 28:26
01 I. Sinfonia 05:45 $ 1.21 USD
02 II. Recitativo (Tenore). Am Abend aber desselbigen
00:47 $ 0.16 USD
03 III. Aria (Alto). Wo zwei und drei versammlet sind… 13:25 $ 2.82 USD
04 IV. Choral Duetto (Soprano, Tenore). Verzage nicht, o
Häuflein klein…
02:55 $ 0.61 USD
05 V. Recitativo (Basso). Man kann hiervon ein schön Exempel
00:47 $ 0.16 USD
06 VI. Aria (Basso). Jesus ist ein Schild der Seinen… 03:06 $ 0.65 USD
07 VII. Choral. Verleih uns Frieden gnädiglich… 01:41 $ 0.35 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Ihr werdet weinen und heulen, BWV103 14:12
08 I. Chorus. Ihr werdet weinen und heulen… 04:54 $ 1.03 USD
09 II. Recitativo (Tenore). Wer sollte nicht in Klagen
00:46 $ 0.16 USD
10 III. Aria (Alto). Kein Arzt ist außer dir zu finden… 04:17 $ 0.90 USD
11 IV. Recitativo (Alto). Du wirst mich nach der Angst… 00:36 $ 0.13 USD
12 V. Aria (Tenore). Erholet euch, betrübte Sinnen… 02:40 $ 0.56 USD
13 VI. Choral. Ich hab dich einen Augenblick… 00:59 $ 0.21 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Es ist euch gut, daß ich hingehe, BWV108 13:26
14 I. [Aria] (Basso). Es ist euch gut, daß ich hingehe… 03:52 $ 0.81 USD
15 II. Aria (Tenore). Mich kann kein Zweifel stören… 03:18 $ 0.69 USD
16 III. Recitativo (Tenore). Dein Geist wird mich also
00:33 $ 0.12 USD
17 IV. Chorus. Wenn aber jener, der Geist der Wahrheit… 02:10 $ 0.46 USD
18 V. Aria (Alto). Was mein Herz von dir begehrt… 02:41 $ 0.56 USD
19 VI. Choral. Dein Geist, den Gott vom Himmel gibt… 00:52 $ 0.18 USD
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden, BWV6 17:12
20 I. [Choral]. Bleib bei uns… 06:14 $ 1.31 USD
21 II. Aria (Alto). Hochgelobter Gottessohn… 02:59 $ 0.63 USD
22 III. Choral (Soprano). Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu
03:42 $ 0.78 USD
23 IV. Recitativo (Basso). Es hat die Dunkelheit… 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
24 V. Aria (Tenore). Jesu, laß uns auf dich sehen… 02:53 $ 0.61 USD
25 VI. Choral. Beweis dein Macht, Herr Jesu Christ… 00:39 $ 0.14 USD
  Album total 75:31
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
Choir & orchestraBach Collegium Japan
TenorGilchrist, James
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari
BassWörner, Dominik

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News