Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.38

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1631 SACD
Release date2008-01-15
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time66:00

BBC Music Magazine: outstanding; Fono Forum: outstanding.

The four cantatas on this recording come from 1726-1727, Bach’s fourth year of service at the Thomaskirche in Leipzig. During this time Bach showed a preference for solo cantatas, entrusting the text to a single solo voice. Three of these cantatas are of this type, while the fourth (BWV58) is scored for two voices. We can only speculate as to Bach’s reason for using this form of cantata: a shortage of choristers, perhaps, or the availability of especially gifted soloists. It’s also possible that Bach was preparing himself, and the choir, for the St Matthew Passion, planned for the Easter of 1727. Bach may also have wished to achieve greater variation in his cantata repertoire, a suggestion supported by the fact that he now more often incorporated instrumental movements. One example is the opening sinfonia of BWV 52, based on a preliminary version of the first Brandenburg Concerto. While Volume 37 in this series focussed on the solo cantatas for alto, as performed by counter-tenor Robin Blaze, this one gives equal space to three other soloists familiar to followers of the series. Ich habe genung, one of the most well-known of all Bach’s cantatas, is here performed in the original bass version by Peter Kooij, giving voice to the text’s journey from weariness of life to the joyful longing for the hereafter in the lively final movement. Carolyn Sampson interprets BWV 52, in which the falseness of the world is contrasted with the steadfastness of God, and joins Kooij in the dialogue of the duet cantata BWV58. The third soloist, Gerd Türk, performs the remaining cantata for solo tenor, Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht – a mournful recognition of man’s sinfulness and a plea for the mercy of God. The whole is accompanied by the eminent ensemble of Bach Collegium Japan, and infused by the vision of Masaaki Suzuki, as described on German website ‘In Suzuki's recordings the listener encounters a Bach full of élan and vitality, completely removed from any overly intellectual, protestant-puritan theoreticians, but instead opposing such an approach. Equally impressive as the architecture of Bach's music is the liveliness and impulsiveness, not to say spontaneity, which it projects.’
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.47
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Falsche Welt, dir trau ich nicht, BWV52 14:16
01 1. Sinfonia 04:13 $ 0.89 USD
02 2. Recitativo. Falsche Welt, dir trau ich nicht!… 01:02 $ 0.22 USD
03 3. Aria. Immerhin, immerhin… 03:26 $ 0.72 USD
04 4. Recitativo. Gott ist getreu!… 01:13 $ 0.26 USD
05 5. Aria. Ich halt es mit dem lieben Gott… 03:30 $ 0.74 USD
06 6. Choral. In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr… 00:52 $ 0.18 USD
  Ich habe genung, BWV82 (bass version in C minor) 31:09
07 1. Aria. Ich habe genung… 06:53 $ 1.45 USD
08 2. Recitativo. Ich habe genung… 10:08 $ 2.13 USD
09 3. Aria. Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen… 09:53 $ 2.08 USD
10 4. Recitativo. Mein Gott! wenn kömmt das schöne: Nun!… 00:51 $ 0.18 USD
11 5. Aria. Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod… 03:24 $ 0.71 USD
  Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht, BWV55 14:22
12 1. Aria. Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht… 06:05 $ 1.28 USD
13 2. Recitativo. Ich habe wider Gott gehandelt… 01:32 $ 0.32 USD
14 3. Aria. Erbarme dich… 04:23 $ 0.92 USD
15 4. Recitativo. Erbarme dich… 01:23 $ 0.29 USD
16 5. Choral. Bin ich gleich von dir gewichen… 00:59 $ 0.21 USD
  Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid, BWV58 13:52
17 1. [Choral & Aria] (Soprano, Basso). Ach Gott, wie manches
04:47 $ 1.00 USD
18 2. Recitativo (Basso). Verfolgt dich gleich die arge Welt… 01:27 $ 0.30 USD
19 3. Aria (Soprano). Ich bin vergnügt in meinem Leiden… 04:20 $ 0.91 USD
20 4. Recitativo (Soprano). Kann es die Welt nicht lassen… 01:11 $ 0.25 USD
21 5. [Choral &] Aria (Soprano, Basso). Ich hab für mir ein
schwere Reis…
02:07 $ 0.44 USD
  Album total 66:00
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
SopranoSampson, Carolyn
BassKooij, Peter
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News