Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach – Cantatas, Vol.40

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1671 SACD
Release date2008-07-15
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time57:22

International Record Review: outstanding.

The four cantatas on this recording are dated 1725, a year during which Bach appears to have devoted himself less regularly than previously to the writing of cantatas. Whatever the reason might have been for this, the cantatas that he did compose are far from being routine affairs. Lobe den Herren (Praise to the Lord), BWV 137, is a case in point: in it Bach includes the original text of the famous hymn, and also uses the familiar melody in all five movements to a greater or lesser degree. To impose such limitations must have been a challenge to himself as a composer, and the imagination and technical skill with which he fulfilled his task are striking. Another impressive moment is the opening movement of Gott der Herr ist Sonn und Schild, BWV79. This was written for the Feast of the Reformation, and with its horns and timpani it conveys a festive magnificence suitable to the occasion. The remaining two cantatas are both associated with a biblical allegory. In the case of BWV 168, the parable of the Dishonest Steward gives Bach the opportunity of composing a thunderous demand for a reckoning of accounts in the opening bass aria Tue Rechnung!, as well as letting the tenor sing about interest and capital in the most beguiling manner in the aria Kapital und Interessen. BWV164 on the other hand deals with the parable of the Good Samaritan, with the expressive alto aria Nur durch Lieb und durch Erbarmen… (‘Only through love and through pity’) providing an emotional centre, with its accompaniment of two flutes.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 11.71
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Lobe den Herren, den mächtigen König der Ehren, BWV137 12:31
01 Chorus. Lobe den Herren, den mächtigen König der Ehren… 03:06 $ 0.65 USD
02 Aria (Alto). Lobe den Herren, der alles so herrlich
03:13 $ 0.68 USD
03 Aria (Soprano, Basso). Lobe den Herren, der künstlich und
fein dich…
03:01 $ 0.63 USD
04 Aria (Tenore). Lobe den Herren, der deinen Stand sichtbar… 02:26 $ 0.51 USD
05 Choral. Lobe den Herren, was in mir ist, lobe den Namen!… 00:45 $ 0.16 USD
  Tue Rechnung! Donnerwort, BWV168 12:47
06 1. Aria (Basso). Tue Rechnung! Donnerwort… 03:01 $ 0.63 USD
07 2. Recitativo (Tenore). Es ist nur fremdes Gut… 01:50 $ 0.39 USD
08 3. Aria (Tenore). Kapital und Interessen… 03:07 $ 0.65 USD
09 4. Recitativo (Basso). Jedoch, erschrocknes Herz, leb und
verzage nicht!…
01:42 $ 0.36 USD
10 5. Aria (Soprano, Alto). Herz, zerreiß des Mammons Kette… 02:11 $ 0.46 USD
11 6. Choral. Stärk’ mich mit deinem Freudengeist… 00:56 $ 0.20 USD
  Gott der Herr ist Sonn und Schild, BWV79 14:03
12 1. [Chorus]. Gott der Herr ist Sonn und Schild… 04:36 $ 0.97 USD
13 2. Aria (Alto). Gott ist unsre Sonn und Schild!… 02:47 $ 0.58 USD
14 3. Choral. Nun danket alle Gott… 02:03 $ 0.43 USD
15 4. Recitativo (Basso). Gottlob, wir wissen… 00:58 $ 0.20 USD
16 5. Aria (Soprano, Basso). Gott, ach Gott, verlass die
02:58 $ 0.62 USD
17 6. Choral. Erhalt uns in der Wahrheit… 00:41 $ 0.14 USD
  Ihr, die ihr euch von Christo nennet, BWV164 16:24
18 1. [Aria] (Tenore). Ihr, die ihr euch von Christo nennet… 04:16 $ 0.90 USD
19 2. Recitativo (Basso). Wir hören zwar, was selbst die Liebe
01:46 $ 0.37 USD
20 3. Aria (Alto). Nur durch Lieb und durch Erbarmen… 04:17 $ 0.90 USD
21 4. Recitativo (Tenore). Ach, schmelze doch durch deinen
01:29 $ 0.31 USD
22 5. Aria (Soprano, Basso). Händen, die sich nicht
03:47 $ 0.79 USD
23 6. Choral. Ertöt uns durch dein Güte… 00:49 $ 0.17 USD
  Album total 57:22
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari
TenorSakurada, Makoto

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News