Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach – Cantatas, Vol.41

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1691 SACD
Release date2008-10-25
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time64:04

BBC Music Magazine: Choice of the Month.

As on two other recent instalments (Vols 37 & 38) in his Cantata cycle, Masaaki Suzuki here concentrates on the so-called solo cantatas, incidentally providing an opportunity for two of the highly acclaimed soloists of this series, Carolyn Sampson and Peter Kooij, to shine even more brightly. Of the two cantatas for soprano, Ich habe genung (BWV82) is among the best-known of all of Bach’s cantatas, and was evidently held in high regard from an early stage. It was originally set for bass (and appears as such on Volume 38), and source materials show that Bach performed it at least four times. Bach’s wife Anna Magdalena must also have been especially fond of it: a partial arrangement for soprano and harpsichord was included in her second Klavierbüchlein. Ich bin vergnügt (BWV84) is a slighter work in which the oboe plays an important soloistic part. Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen, the weightier of the bass cantatas, is a meditiation on the cross of Jesus, but also on the suffering and need that mankind must bear. The texts, by an unknown librettist, inspired Bach to produce music of sublime earnestness, great expressive depth and full of rich, immediate imagery. Whereas these three cantatas were all composed during the winter of 1726-27, Der Friede sei mit dir has a less certain place in the chronology. It is in fact probable that it was assembled from movements from various sources, perhaps by an arranger rather than by Bach himself. The centrepiece of the cantata is the large-scale bass aria with its demanding violin solo; here a chorale strophe sung by a soprano is interfoliated line by line. This movement also features the first appearance in the Bach Collegium Japan Cantata cycle of the young Czech soprano Hana Blažíková.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.13
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen, BWV56 17:47
01 1. Aria. Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen… 06:42 $ 1.41 USD
02 2. Recitativo. Mein Wandel auf der Welt… 01:43 $ 0.36 USD
03 3. Aria. Endlich, endlich wird mein Joch… 06:33 $ 1.38 USD
04 4. Recitativo. Ich stehe fertig und bereit… 01:30 $ 0.32 USD
05 5. Choral. Komm, o Tod, du Schlafes Bruder… 01:19 $ 0.28 USD
  Ich habe genung, BWV82 (soprano version in E minor) 21:10
06 1. Aria. Ich habe genung… 06:35 $ 1.38 USD
07 2. Recitativo. Ich habe genung… 01:05 $ 0.23 USD
08 3. Aria. Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen… 09:28 $ 1.99 USD
09 4. Recitativo. Mein Gott! wenn kömmt das schöne: Nun!… 00:46 $ 0.16 USD
10 5. Aria. Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod… 03:16 $ 0.69 USD
  Der Friede sei mit dir, BWV158 09:40
11 1. Recitativo (Basso). Der Friede sei mit dir… 01:38 $ 0.34 USD
12 2. Aria con Corale (Basso, Soprano). Welt, ade, ich bin dein
05:44 $ 1.20 USD
13 3. Recitativo (Basso). Nun, Herr, regiere meinen Sinn… 01:19 $ 0.28 USD
14 4. Choral. Hier ist das rechte Osterlamm… 00:59 $ 0.21 USD
  Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke, BWV84 13:53
15 1. Aria. Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke… 06:15 $ 1.31 USD
16 2. Recitativo. Gott ist mir ja nichts schuldig… 01:27 $ 0.30 USD
17 3. Aria. Ich esse mit Freuden mein weniges Brot… 04:15 $ 0.89 USD
18 4. Recitativo. Im Schweiße meines Angesichts… 01:00 $ 0.21 USD
19 5. Choral. Ich leb indes in dir vergnüget… 00:56 $ 0.20 USD
  Album total 64:04
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoSampson, Carolyn

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News