Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach – Cantatas, Vol.42

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1711 SACD
Release date2009-01-25
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time75:24

The present volume in the cantata cycle of the Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki consists of four works, all written for performances in January 1726. Among these is the New Year’s cantata Herr Gott, dich loben wir, BWV16 (Lord God, we praise you). Less extrovert than some other Bach cantatas written for this particular day, it makes up for the lack of trumpets and timpani by the richness of the complex writing, including a virtuosic horn part. Also included is Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen, BWV32 (Dearest Jesus, my desire), one of Bach’s so-called ‘Concertos in Dialogo’ in which the composer has allocated the role of the soul to the soprano and the words of Jesus to the bass. The cantata opens with an aria for the soul, searching yearningly for its saviour. The two are brought together in the fourth movement, an accompagnato recitative, which leads into a love duet that could have graced any opera stage of the period. Meine Seufzer, meine Tränen, BWV13 (My sighs, my tears), is another memorable example of Bach’s expressive genius: based on a single detail from the story of the Wedding at Cana, the subject matter of the cantata text is abandonment and hopelessness, but also the confidence that the hour of will come when ‘the light of joy will be lit in the sorrowful breast of the believer’. The libretto provides Bach with all the necessary keywords for a colourful, expressive and multifaceted piece of music: an introductory tenor lament, exquisitely scored for two recorders and oboe da caccia, a heartfelt prayer from the alto, and a bass aria full of tense dissonance all receive a final release in the concluding chorale setting. Masaaki Suzuki and the choir and orchestra of BCJ bring these works to full effect, aided by a fine team of soloists in which soprano Rachel Nicholls makes her first appearance in this series.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.39
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Alles nur nach Gottes Willen, BWV72 14:59
01 1. [Chorus]. Alles nur nach Gottes Willen… 03:18 $ 0.69 USD
02 2. Recitativo (Alto). O selger Christ, der allzeit seinen
02:01 $ 0.42 USD
03 3. Aria (Alto). Mit allem, was ich hab und bin… 04:06 $ 0.86 USD
04 4. Recitativo (Basso). So glaube nun!… 00:59 $ 0.21 USD
05 5. Aria (Soprano). Mein Jesus will es tun… 03:28 $ 0.73 USD
06 6. Choral. Was mein Gott will, das g’scheh allzeit… 01:07 $ 0.23 USD
  Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen, BWV32 22:37
07 1. Aria (Soprano). Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen… 06:43 $ 1.41 USD
08 2. Recitativo (Basso). Was ists, dass du mich gesuchet?… 00:25 $ 0.09 USD
09 3. Aria (Basso). Hier, in meines Vaters Stätte… 06:32 $ 1.37 USD
10 4. Recitativo (Soprano, Basso). Ach! heiliger und großer
02:23 $ 0.50 USD
11 5. Aria Duetto (Soprano, Basso). Nun verschwinden alle
05:33 $ 1.17 USD
12 6. Choral. Mein Gott, öffne mir die Pforten… 01:01 $ 0.21 USD
  Meine Seufzer, meine Tränen, BWV13 20:00
13 1. Aria (Tenore). Meine Seufzer, meine Tränen… 07:39 $ 1.61 USD
14 2. Recitativo (Alto). Mein liebster Gott lässt mich
01:03 $ 0.22 USD
15 3. Choral (Alto). Der Gott, der mir hat versprochen… 02:37 $ 0.55 USD
16 4. Recitativo (Soprano). Mein Kummer nimmet zu… 01:17 $ 0.27 USD
17 5. Aria (Basso). Ächzen und erbärmlich Weinen… 06:42 $ 1.41 USD
18 6. Choral. So sei nun, Seele, deine… 00:42 $ 0.15 USD
  Herr Gott, dich loben wir, BWV16 15:41
19 1. [Chorus]. Herr Gott, dich loben wir… 01:42 $ 0.36 USD
20 2. Recitativo (Basso). So stimmen wir… 01:16 $ 0.27 USD
21 3. Aria tutti (Basso). Lasst uns jauchzen, lasst uns
03:44 $ 0.78 USD
22 4. Recitativo (Alto). Ach treuer Hort… 01:19 $ 0.28 USD
23 5. Aria (Tenore). Geliebter Jesu, du allein… 06:42 $ 1.41 USD
24 6. Choral. All solch dein Güt wir preisen… 00:58 $ 0.20 USD
  Album total 75:24
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
BassKooij, Peter
SopranoNicholls, Rachel
TenorTurk (Türk), Gerd

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News