Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach – Cantatas, Vol.45

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1801 SACD
Release date2009-10-19
Orig. sample rate44100Hz
Total time65:42

During the period from which these three cantatas come, Bach no longer presented a new cantata of his own every Sunday. Instead he made extensive use of compositions by others, including his own second cousin Johann Ludwig Bach, court composer at Meiningen. In several instances, Bach also reused texts set by Johann Ludwig for his own compositions, including two of the cantatas here, Brich dem Hungrigen dein Brot and Es wartet alles auf dich. Both of these follow a pattern which falls into two parts, with the opening text of each section being taken from the Old and the New Testament respectively. The third cantata, Gelobet sei der Herr, mein Gott, is also unusual in its structure, in that it utilizes five strophes of a single hymn, word for word. The hymn strophes are respectively used for an opening chorus, three arias and a closing chorale, with the first and fifth movement - resplendently scored with trumpets and timpani - utilizing the same hymn melody, although in very different ways. The three arias (for bass, soprano and alto) are more intimate in size, but also highly varied, addressing in turn Christ, the Holy Spirit and the full Trinity. The disc closes with a movement for solo violin and orchestra, thought to be an opening sinfonia for an unknown cantata. It is possibly a late arrangement of an early work, as the highly virtuosic solo part seems to suggest influences from the Italian violin concertos that were making such an impact in Germany during the first decades of the 18th century. With this disc the cantata series of Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki reaches its 45th instalment, to ever-growing acclaim, as exemplified by a recent review regarding Volume 42: 'a recording which shows Suzuki maturing along with Bach... another fine instalment in this most consistent of series' (International Record Review).
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 13.40
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Brich dem Hungrigen dein Brot, BWV39 20:09
01 1. [Chorus]. Brich dem Hungrigen dein Brot… 07:05 $ 1.49 USD
02 2. Recitativo (Basso). Der reiche Gott wirft seinen
01:27 $ 0.30 USD
03 3. Aria (Alto). Seinem Schöpfer noch auf Erden… 03:26 $ 0.72 USD
04 4. [Aria] (Basso). Wohlzutun und mitzuteilen vergesset
02:37 $ 0.55 USD
05 5. Aria (Soprano). Höchster, was ich habe… 02:58 $ 0.62 USD
06 6. Recitativo (Alto). Wie soll ich dir, o Herr, denn
sattsamlich vergelten…
01:34 $ 0.33 USD
07 7. Choral. Selig sind, die aus Erbarmen… 01:02 $ 0.22 USD
  Es wartet alles auf dich, BWV187 19:52
08 1. [Chorus]. Es wartet alles auf dich… 05:44 $ 1.20 USD
09 2. Recitativo (Basso). Was Kreaturen hält… 00:56 $ 0.20 USD
10 3. Aria (Alto). Du Herr, du krönst allein das Jahr mit
deinem Gut…
03:41 $ 0.77 USD
11 4. [Aria] (Basso). Darum sollt ihr nicht sorgen noch
02:25 $ 0.51 USD
12 5. Aria (Soprano). Gott versorget alles Leben… 03:50 $ 0.81 USD
13 6. Recitativo (Soprano). Halt ich nur fest an ihm… 01:19 $ 0.28 USD
14 7. Choral. Gott hat die Erde zugericht’… 01:57 $ 0.41 USD
  Gelobet sei der Herr, mein Gott, BWV129 17:20
15 1. [Chorus]. Gelobet sei der Herr… 03:57 $ 0.83 USD
16 2. Aria (Basso). Gelobet sei der Herr… 03:23 $ 0.71 USD
17 3. Aria (Soprano). Gelobet sei der Herr… 03:55 $ 0.82 USD
18 4. Aria (Alto). Gelobet sei der Herr… 04:36 $ 0.97 USD
19 5. Chorale. Dem wir das Heilig itzt… 01:29 $ 0.31 USD
20 Sinfonia D-Dur für Violine und Orchester, BWV1045 06:28 $ 1.36 USD
  Album total 65:42
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
BassKooij, Peter
Counter-tenorBlaze, Robin
SopranoNonoshita, Yukari
ViolinWakamatsu, Natsumi

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News