Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Tchaikovsky & Khachaturian: Piano Concertos

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberCHSA5167
Release date2016-04-29

After a year off the concert platform, Xiayin Wang, a specialist in the romantic repertoire, presents a new recording of two relatively little-played piano concertos: No. 2 by Tchaikovsky, in its much lesser known yet extremely virtuosic original version, and Khachaturian’s. The disc also marks the 125th anniversary of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, here conducted by its Music Director, Peter Oundjian. Involving the same forces as Wang’s earlier recording of American concertos (Editor’s Choice in the magazine Pianist), the album follows a performance in Edinburgh’s Usher Hall, described by The Scotsman as ‘breathtakingly athletic’. Composed more than fifty years apart, these pieces have perhaps only one thing in common, namely an opening grandiosity or grandeur. Yet, while Tchaikovsky in 1879, in his heyday, undercut imperial splendour with a wealth of contrasting material that pointed the way ahead to more experimental, post imperial concertos such as Prokofiev’s Second, Khachaturian’s folk generalisations, vaguely Armenian or Georgian, remain the consistent thumbprints of a rather heavier style.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 18.08
Extra material for download
  Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44 41:55
01 I. Allegro brillante e molto vivace - 05:45 $ 1.38 USD
02 I. Tempo I - 04:53 $ 1.17 USD
03 I. Meno mosso moderato assai - 05:03 $ 1.21 USD
04 I. Tempo I - 04:26 $ 1.06 USD
05 II. Andante non troppo 14:25 $ 3.46 USD
06 III. Allegro con fuoco 07:23 $ 1.77 USD
  Piano Concerto in D-Flat Major, Op. 38 33:24
07 I. Allegro maestoso 14:05 $ 3.38 USD
08 II. Andante con anima 10:21 $ 2.48 USD
09 III. Allegro brillante 08:58 $ 2.15 USD
  Album total 75:19
Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News