Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

J.S. Bach - Cantatas, Vol.30, Solo Cantatas (BWV 51 and 1127)

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue numberBIS-1471 SACD
Release date2006-01-29
Orig. sample rate44100Hz (bonus track 18 is 16-bit and stereo only)
Total time73:46

When the German musicologist Michael Maul found a previously unknown work by Bach in the archives of the Anna Amalia Library in Weimar, at first he didn’t believe his eyes. When the discovery was made public in June 2005, it naturally caused a sensation. Being a strophic aria with the stanzas separated from each other by a ritornello, Alles mit Gott is unique in Bach’s production, and was composed in 1713 for the celebrations of the birthday of Wilhelm Ernst, Duke of Sachsen-Weimar, Bach’s employer at the time. This is the first recording of the complete aria, with all its twelve verses. In his liner notes, Michael Maul discusses the possibility of the work having been divided into parts that were performed at various points during a special church service.
The disc opens with a much more well-known work, however. It is the solo cantata Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen, in which Bach creates church music in the spirit of the Italian instrumental concerto, with a soprano and a trumpet taking turns in writing that is both highly virtuosic and expressive.
The soprano soloist in both works is Carolyn Sampson, whose previous collaboration with Masaaki Suzuki and the Bach Collegium Japan was greeted with high praise from the critics: ‘Sampson is set to become a Bach singer of real stature’ was the verdict in The Gramophone, whereas the Spanish magazine CD Compact described her performance as ‘simply out of this world’. From this disc, BIS-CD-1411, comes the bonus track Spielet, ihr beseelten Lieder (from the Wedding Cantata BWV 210) which closes the present release.
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 24-bit Surround 5.0
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.28
Extra material for download
  Composer: Bach, Johann Sebastian
  Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen! BWV 51 16:52
01 I. Aria - Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen! 04:30 $ 0.95 USD
02 II. Recitativo - Wir beten zu dem Tempel an... 02:21 $ 0.49 USD
03 Aria - Höchster, mache deine Güte... 04:41 $ 0.98 USD
04 Choral - Sei Lob und Preis mit Ehren... 03:17 $ 0.69 USD
05 Aria - Alleluja! 02:03 $ 0.43 USD
  Alles mit Gott und nichts ohn´ ihn, BWV 1127 48:55
06 Verse 1 04:05 $ 0.86 USD
07 Verse 2 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
08 Verse 3 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
09 Verse 4 04:04 $ 0.85 USD
10 Verse 5 04:07 $ 0.86 USD
11 Verse 6 04:00 $ 0.84 USD
12 Verse 7 04:07 $ 0.86 USD
13 Verse 8 04:05 $ 0.86 USD
14 Verse 9 04:08 $ 0.87 USD
15 Verse 10 04:07 $ 0.86 USD
16 Verse 11 04:06 $ 0.86 USD
17 Verse 12 04:06 $ 0.86 USD
  Bonus track: from O Holder Tag, erwünschte Zeit, BWV 210 (Hochzeitskantate)
18 II. Aria - Spielet, ihr beseelten Lieder... 07:00 $ 1.47 USD
  Album total 73:46
ComposerBach, Johann Sebastian
OrchestraBach Collegium Japan
ConductorSuzuki, Masaaki
SopranoSampson, Carolyn

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News