Find music by

Sign up for our newsletter

Zemlinsky: A Florentine Tragedy

Orchestras / Ensembles
Catalogue number900347
Release date2024-04-19

Guido Bardi, the son of the Duke of Florence, kneels before Bianca, the wife of the rich merchant Simone, and holds her hands. Simone, who has returned early from a business trip, then enters the room. - The very beginning of Alexander Zemlinsky's one-act opera "A Florentine Tragedy", based on Oscar Wilde's play of the same name in the German translation by Max Meyerfeld, presents the conflict from which the tragedy arises. This stage work by the Austrian composer, who was forgotten for many decades, had its world premiere on January 30, 1917 in Stuttgart and was not performed again until 1977. This CD from BR-KLASSIK documents the Munich premiere on November 27, 2022 with the Münchner Rundfunkorchester conducted by Patrick Hahn, recorded live at the city’s Prinzregententheater.
With the "Florentine Tragedy", albeit rather belatedly, Zemlinsky followed the fashion for Renaissance and one-act works at the turn of the century. Richard Strauss had made his mark in that genre with "Salome" and "Elektra" – and the literary basis for the former had also been provided by Oscar Wilde. In the very first notes, seemingly aware of this similarity with Strauss’s work, Zemlinsky goes on the offensive with an "upbeat fanfare" – as the prelude to an orchestral introduction that can easily be interpreted as a musical representation of the main romantic relationship. At the transition to the actual stage action, however, Zemlinsky switches to a sombre minor-key atmosphere. When Simone appears, the music already makes it clear that the plot cannot end otherwise than tragically. For whom, we do not yet know…
In the Munich premiere of Zemlinsky's "A Florentine Tragedy", Rachael Wilson (mezzo-soprano) sang the part of Bianca, Benjamin Bruns (tenor) was Prince Guido Bardi and Christopher Maltman (baritone) the merchant Simone. The Münchner Rundfunkorchester performed under the young conductor Patrick Hahn. Last year, the 27-year-old Austrian – who since 2021 in Wuppertal has been the youngest Generalmusikdirektor in the German-speaking world – was engaged as the Münchner Rundfunkorchester’s Principal Guest Conductor.

• Alexander Zemlinsky's one-act opera "A Florentine Tragedy" – a live recording of the Munich premiere on November 27, 2022

• First-class cast with Rachael Wilson (mezzo-soprano), Benjamin Bruns (tenor) and Christopher Maltman (baritone) as well as the Münchner Rundfunkorchester under the young Austrian conductor Patrick Hahn

• Following the enthusiastically received recording of Viktor Ullmann's chamber opera "Der Kaiser von Atlantis" (BR-KLASSIK 900339), this is the second opera from the early 20th century to be interpreted by Patrick Hahn as Principal Guest Conductor of the Münchner Rundfunkorchester

• Exciting live atmosphere, featuring the special acoustics of Munich's Prinzregententheater
    File formats included in STUDIO QUALITY
    • FLAC 24-bit Stereo
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
    File formats included in CD QUALITY | MP3
    • FLAC 16-bit Stereo
    • MP3 Stereo
$ 15.41
  Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
  A Florentine Tragedy, 900347 51:55
01 Vorspiel 04:25 $ 1.19 USD
02 So langsam, Weib? (Simone, Bianca) 02:17 $ 0.62 USD
03 Ich heiße Guido Bardi (Guido, Simone) 02:32 $ 0.68 USD
04 Wo ist mein Bündel? (Simone) 01:55 $ 0.52 USD
05 Wackrer Simone, genug, ich bitte Euch (Guido, Simone) 02:50 $ 0.77 USD
06 Bianca, sag, stünde nicht dies kostbar edle Kleid dem
Prinzen Guido gut?
03:00 $ 0.81 USD
07 Wie, wenn ich die weiße Bianca forderte? 00:57 $ 0.26 USD
08 Spinn ein Kleid, getaucht in Purpur 02:03 $ 0.55 USD
09 Was gibt es Neues, mein Prinz? 05:05 $ 1.37 USD
10 Wie er gleich einem schalen Krämer spricht! 03:26 $ 0.93 USD
11 Genug! (Simone, Guido) 03:07 $ 0.84 USD
12 In einem Kerker schmachtet meine Seele (Simone, Guido) 02:07 $ 0.57 USD
13 Was meint der Fleck hier auf dem Tuch? (Simone, Guido) 02:14 $ 0.60 USD
14 Holdsel'ge Bianca, der schale Krämer langweilt mich (Guido,
06:00 $ 1.62 USD
15 Simone, jetzt muss ich nach Hause gehen! (Guido, Simone) 01:51 $ 0.50 USD
16 Ei, welch ein Schwert! (Simone, Guido) 02:20 $ 0.63 USD
17 Bianca, hol mein Schwert! (Simone, Bianca, Guido)   03:15 $ 0.88 USD
18 Und jetzt zu dir! (Simone, Bianca) 02:31 $ 0.68 USD
  Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
  Eine Florentinische Tragödie, 900843
19 I. Overture "Eine florentinische Tragödie" 05:09 $ 1.39 USD
  Album total 57:04
ConductorPatrick Hahn
OrchestraMunich Radio Orchestra
ComposerAlexander Zemlinsky
LyricistAlexander Zemlinsky

Daily Deal
Top downloads is a completely virtual record label and a secure online store open 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Customers and visitors can download classical music in high quality FLAC or MP3 and find out more about classical music.

Start page    24 Bit FAQ    Assistance    About eClassical    Classical News